AVATAR Review. [Sci-Fi Squad Interruption]

Posted by Peter Hall - December 14th 2009 @ 11:51 am

[Because I wish even the most skeptical of skeptics would experience this on the big screen, I’m plugging my SFS review of Avatar here.  And also because this is my site and I do what I wants.]

The buzz and buzzkill leading up to Avatar, it turns out, found inadequate purchase now that the world has finally glimpsed the fabled film. The echo chamber of hype that believed it would drastically alter the landscape of filmmaking forever, the virulent, vitriolic cries of Dances with Smurfs, the total indifference…all misplaced.

You are not prepared for Avatar. Roll your eyes at that; laugh it off, you’ve heard that pitch before. It’s not hyperbole, though, it’s bald truth. Whether it’s your most anticipated movie of the year or your least, it is not precisely what you think it is. How could it be? Avatar is a motion picture precedent, after all. It’s fair to say that the core conflict is less than revolutionary and that parts of the narrative are broad, but those ills are scarcely symptomatic of James Cameron’s ultimate goal. It’s not about challenging the formula of Group X oppresses Group Y, who then fight back. Nor is it about only showcasing the bleeding edge technology that Cameron and company have invented and licensed over the last decade. Avatar is about transporting a viewer to the awe-inspiring alien world of Pandora and integrating them into its fantastic way of life for 150 minutes. That’s the bullseye Cameron is aiming for, and that is the bullseye he obliterates.

Read the rest of my Avatar review at SciFi Squad!

Tags: ,


rss 11 comments
  1. hansulu
    December 14th, 2009 | 10:30 pm | #1

    You get me pumped for a movie like no other writer out there. I am so ready to see this in Imax on Friday!!!!

  2. December 15th, 2009 | 1:06 am | #2

    Thanks, man, I appreciate it.

  3. Randy
    December 15th, 2009 | 6:51 pm | #3

    This movie has Michelle Rodriquez, I hate that bitch. I’ll never watch this movie. I don’t care if she’s in it for 2 minutes, she’ll ruin it.

  4. Randy
    December 15th, 2009 | 7:39 pm | #4

    In retrospect, maybe my comments were a little harsh, but she plays the same character in every movie, and I just can’t get past that. This movie is way too overhyped for me, they have worked it in to the plot of an episode of Bones, come on. I will take your word for it though Peter, I’ll try my best to go see it.

  5. December 17th, 2009 | 2:01 am | #5

    Don’t be an old man, Randy.

  6. Randy
    December 17th, 2009 | 6:27 pm | #6

    Whateva, ya Tweener

  7. hansulu
    December 19th, 2009 | 12:36 pm | #7

    you were right man. amazing film. i really feel like i spent some time on an alien planet. classic storyline. flawless effects. great stuff!

  8. Matt
    January 7th, 2010 | 6:35 pm | #8

    I finally broke down to see the film. I liked it…i’m not sure I was as excited as eveyrone else is, but it was good and i’m glad I saw it in theaters. But when you break it down it’s all about the effects…nothing new in the story.

  9. R.J. Sayer
    January 7th, 2010 | 7:43 pm | #9

    Matt – to be honest with you, I hated it.

  10. Matt
    January 9th, 2010 | 10:23 pm | #10

    Not gonna say I hated it, but I don’t think it deserves the hype it’s received. Cameron has not had an original idea since Abyss. The special effects are great, but not groundbreaking. He’s taken what others have already done and improved yes…but ground breaking no. And the story was nothing new…it was like Dances with Wolves in space. Here are the natvies that live in perfect harmony with their enviroment, then here comes the white man to rape and pilage the land…

  11. TJ
    January 12th, 2010 | 10:40 pm | #11

    @Randy- she’s barely in the film. good call, pete. i couldn’t really figure out a way to convey the exact same thoughts into words, and you hit it on the head.

    to further your thoughts- the people that just can’t put themselves into a world created by cinema are the ones who will not enjoy this film. if you cannot empathize or relate on any emotional level, then you will not see this movie for what it truly is… and you probably hate a lot of other good movies too.

comment on this article


Recent Comments